Being Millennial!

27 Jan

There are so many words that we use so casually in our day to day conversations without actually realizing that they could mean something so very different in true sense. I was speaking with a respectable senior from my family a few days back who was extremely interested in knowing what were my plans in life in general. His questions were so typical of his generation – Where do you want to see yourself after ten years? Have you thought of the future? And a series of such innocuous questions followed. Of course innocuous to my generation. 😉

The word to be highlighted here is ‘generation’. I have been enlightened of late that I belong to the “Generation Y” also called as the Millennia. I represent the generation transitioning from Generation X to Generation Z. Coming to think of it, Generation X is the one which is completely overwhelmed by the technological advancements that mankind has seen in the past four decades and Generation Z is the one which is completely agnostic to a world without technology. While the prior has a more cynical and jaundiced opinion about every step taken ahead, the latter cannot even imagine a world without the internet. Both the generations have definitive traits and have been quantified very impressively in the pew research publication here: http://pewresearch.org/pubs/1437/millennials-profile

The instigation for me to know more about the generation that I am being labeled into came from this family member. The moment I answered his questions with an evident bit of nonchalance, he cited my father’s example stating that when he was of my age, he was crystal clear with where he wanted to see himself eventually. Along with stating that I waste tones of useful time in just posting status updates on Facebook and browsing the internet in general, what bothered me more was the typecasting of the entire clan.

Although my parents are getting to be technologically savvy, for the only reason that they want to make use of the available channels to communicate with me (Yeah! They have not abandoned me yet 😛 ), I do not feel that they are as passionate about it as anyone from my generation is. We are truly the most socially connected generation. Alongside, we appreciate a world devoid of technology as successfully as the one that we live in. One of my friends who is well placed in an awesome company, content, so to say happened to mention that it could have been really difficult for him to get to where he is now without the aid of social networking. The point being that we are more receptive to being socially participative than others.

Well, this argument didn’t satiate my listener in any way. However, I must say that there was one question that made so much more sense than the others – to know what are you here for?

Isn’t this the most fundamental question of any philosophy or any mythology – to understand the reason for one’s existence? How blissful would it be to know the answer to this question and the definitions of success or failure would just fall in place and the conundrum called life would simply transform into a wonderfully hummable song. Well, coming to reality filled with dilemmas, confusions and answer-less questions is difficult indeed… Being Millennial! 🙂

 

8 Responses to “Being Millennial!”

  1. Sree January 28, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Wah..kya khaya tha bhai before you sat down to write this?! 😛
    Hazam hua but then this is something beyond the english I know! 😉
    Millenial saala! 😀

    • Himanshu January 30, 2011 at 9:50 am #

      Thanks for the compliment another Saale millennial!
      If my relative reads this conversation I am sure I am up for another earful! 🙂

  2. Sound January 30, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    i just realized i wasn’t following your external and mised your posts!!

    most if us are facing this …”Questions” session 🙄

    coming to reality filled with dilemmas, confusions and answer-less questions is difficult indeed… Being Millennial! 😀 😀 its very tough!!!!

    • Himanshu January 30, 2011 at 10:49 am #

      Thanks for visiting Sound! I can totally understand your emotion about the questions that are put across. But, at the same time, don’t you think these questions are really instrumental in getting us to think about possibilities? Just an after thought.

  3. Kohum January 31, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    No offense Himanshu, but your definitions of Generation X and Generation Y, leave me nowhere. I belong to generation X.2, so while we exhibit a few characteristics of Generation X, and not quite of Generation Y, still technologically savy.
    …anyway, that’s topic for some other article somewhere else.

    The point of my comments today is really about expressing disagreement to your closing argument.

    “…to understand the reason for one’s existence? How blissful would it be to know the answer to this question…”

    Knowing what one wants to do, is not, in anyway same as understand the reason for one’s existence. These two may be completely different things. Knowing what one wants to do, is more like short term goal, and understanding one’s existence and taking action on it (like achieving Nirvana for instance) is a long term goal of life (or several lives).

    Eternal truth is this: since the day we are born, we are hurtling towards death. Every second goes by, takes us closer to the ultimate truth. So understanding one’s existence is really to understand this ultimate truth and that, in my mind is to achieve state of Nirvana and to really end the cycles of life and death.

    Talking more about worldly matters, exactly knowing what you want to do/achieve maybe treated as success criteria by the inhabitants of this planet, but won’t you agree that not knowing exactly keeps life an interesting journey 🙂

    • Himanshu February 1, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

      @ Dhanu Kaka
      Oh Whow!
      First of all, I am completely obliged to see your comment on my blog post. Thanks for taking time out of your crazy schedule.

      // but your definitions of Generation X and Generation Y, leave me nowhere.// — Oh you are ageless chacha jaan. But, technically, I would consider you to belong to Gen X! Go Gen X!

      //These two may be completely different things.// — I do tend to agree with you here. But, I guess I never meant to state an eternal truth. It was more of random ramblings.. mindless musings.. which made their way to the keyboard. 🙂 Having said that, I guess my ramblings were inspired by the thought process which went through my mind after the sad demise of Pandit Bhimsen Joshi. I was imagining how wonderful his life would have been after realizing that it was music that he wanted to do. Successes and Failures would be absolutely innocuous.
      //since the day we are born, we are hurtling towards death. // — That sounds cynical. But well, I am myself a victim of that. Talk of cynicism at early age 🙂
      //won’t you agree that not knowing exactly keeps life an interesting journey // — yes totally! I am not complaning!! 🙂

  4. Dishit D February 5, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    phew! what an article!
    one thing what the earlier generations did not have is the number of choices we have and that is the only defense we have for our generation. Of course with rapid changes in technology, we have to keep adapting and thus of unsure of what next! More like we have to keep running to stay in the same place…from Through the looking glass 😛

    i had read this article at least 5-6 times from the time it was published and still won’t mind it reading couple of times more…nice post buddy!

    • Himanshu February 16, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      @ Dish
      You have a point when you say that you need to keep yourself updated with the technology. But, the point essentially being made is that how much of it do we really need.. is it a world of virtual reality that seems more real than virtual now?
      Thanks a bunch as usual for stopping by dude. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

