Flakes and Flurries

9 Jan

After the previous fiasco at writing an Etheree, I am finally trying my hand at it again. Thanks Megz for the encouragement and helping me out with this one and thanks Pooja and Abhishek for the pat at the right place (you know where 😉 )

On one of the recent snowy days, I was just amused at how nature changes its color intermittently. Sometimes, it seems like an act of vengeance while on others a sign of grace. Somewhere, swayed by the crowd while at others, lurching in solitude…

Ridiculously white out of the window!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Snow –

White flakes.

Winter frost.

Sunshine all lost.

Walking past cold streets,

Suspicious frozen trees.

Gelid wind, icy cold chills,

Boisterously cheery snow – capped hills.

Out of the window – white everywhere,

Warm solitude held snug in a balmy chair.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

P.S : The picture has been clicked by none other than the maestro himself – Abhishek Bhattacherjee. I urge you all to check out his pics here!

10 Responses to “Flakes and Flurries”

  1. Abhishek January 9, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    I love this one even better (may be because I am able to relate with the description, as this is all we have been seeing for the past few weeks). Now, after reading this, I am craving for a cup of hot chocolate!! 🙂

    Dude, you should start writing captions to the photos I click!!

    • Himanshu January 9, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      yay! honor to have you as the first commenter pal. Thanks for the encouraging words. I know I have a tendency to screw it up big time when it comes to format poetry. :-/
      As the adage goes – a picture speaks more than a thousand words. it was only your click which has made the poem effective. Thanks a zillion!
      And what do you mean by putting a caption to the photos you click? (author thoroughly confused! 🙄 )

      • Abhishek January 9, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

        Look at my flickr stream…. I generally write a single sentence that describes the photo. It would be interesting to see how you can use your creativity to describe some of the photos! 🙂

  2. Pooja Mayadeo January 10, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    Great! Wow! I love this one…Paints a pretty picture…Tho the first time I read it I was busy counting! Mathematical Duh me! Just cudnt help it!
    Keep up the great work HSK!

  3. Himanshu January 10, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    @ Abhishek
    Oh like that!! (Author nodding in agreement 🙂 )
    Ab mujhse kaam karvaoge.. Caption it is sir!

    @ Pooja
    Hey thanks a bunch for the encouraging words Poo! I was sure you would count the syllables first 😛 Arre, this time I got it reviewed from the master herself before posting it 🙂

  4. Serendipity January 11, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    Ah dude!!
    Got here from Megz Publicity Campaign at her blog 🙂

    Going to add this to my reader.

    – V

    • megzone January 12, 2011 at 12:45 am #

      oiiieee nautanki… kya publicity campaign kiya re :O
      he asked and i was only too honoured to do it 🙄
      uffff tu bhi naa 🙄

  5. megzone January 12, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    uffooo ye Vinu bhi naa.. mat sunna iski baat… koi publicity campaign nai kiya maine 🙄
    as promised the poem is up on Ch1 and peeps are loving you back in action.. COuple of them even expressed to see more of your guest blogs than my own insanity 😥

    btw as said in my mail too this is one helluva awesome etheree 😀
    m glad you came up with it soon 😀 and yes do tel Abhishek that was one brilliant click there :d
    nice idea to click thru the window 😀

    and i hope you keep writing more poetry and try many more forms 😀

  6. Himanshu January 13, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    @ Vinu
    YAY!! 🙂 Great to see you here buddy.
    Well, I am thankful to Megz (or her publicity skills) to bring you on this space. Do you have an external blog? You wont believe this. But recently, I was visiting a friend of mine from Cognizant and the first thing I asked him to do was to log me in on Channel One. Amongst the blogs that I checked right away was indeed yours. So, do let me know if you have an external blog and I would only be thrilled to follow it..

  7. Himanshu January 13, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    @ Megzy
    Oh come on Megzy. Thanks a bunch for posting it on your blog. Now, if it indirectly did some publicity, I have no problems at all.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

