Life’s Like That: Of checked-in babies :-P

29 Dec

Time flies – they say! A quick realization that I am already a semester old as a student struck me as I completed my last examination. After a considerably huge hiatus I was feeling declutched. After a demanding load of course work and harassing finals, a break was certainly much needed. To get away from the snow and the winter of Pittsburgh, I decided to visit my aunt at Houston where the Sun shines bright! 🙂 For those who know me, I need sunlight to function. (Ya ya! You are already cracking jokes about me being a plant incarnated as a human etc. Grrrr! 👿 )

The tickets were booked and bags were packed. I was waiting for my bus early in the morning to take me to the airport. I am mostly engrossed in the nothings of this world and this day was no different. While I was thinking about things ranging from how can Madhuri Dixit be so beautiful that I am completely at lack of words to describe it to thinking about what all would I get to eat at my aunt’s place ( 😛 Yeah! I always think of food! 😀 ), I was greeted by a friend who was also heading to a warmer place – LA. I would like to assume that my friend was as glad to have my company as I was to have his. But then, that’s just a way in which I like to think of myself to be likeable! 😛 😀

Now there is something which I have to confess. I am not the kind of person who would go ahead and strike a conversation right away. However, if the wavelengths match, I tend to blabber uncontrollably 😛 Well, as you must have guessed it already, it was the latter with this friend of mine. Our conversation started with how everyone gets disillusioned about snow after landing up in a couple of snow storms to how it was a bad idea to take an early morning flight. We shifted soon to our past travel expeditions. It did not take long for my friend to state how annoying kids turn out to be as fellow travelers. I chose to not voice out my disagreement as I could see the indignation evidently 😀 The following statement by my friend stayed on my mind for quite some time:-

“Kids should also be checked – in with the rest of the baggage in aircrafts!” (ROFL.. 😛 )

We reached the airport and went to our respective terminals wishing each other happy holidays. My flight was on time (the reason for a special mention of this is attributed to the fact that flights are delayed perpetually during the winters! L ). I boarded the flight, found my seat and wished a good morning to my co passenger who had a very pleasant demeanor. Once again, it was the other person who instigated the conversation and we started talking about the nothings of the world.

My co passenger was a tax consultant visiting some of his clients at Houston. Coincidence indeed – we had a kid co passenger in the row ahead of us who had probably just got up from his slumber and was playing and chuckling with his parents. Soon he seemed to be irritated by the fact that the aircraft was not moving and so he started crying out loud! I mean really loud! My co passenger exclaimed that the boy reminded him of his own son and this is what he said –

“Oh! I just love their voices and noises. Heavenly!” (yet again.. ROFL.. 😛 )

The irony of the situation made me smile mysteriously. The unsent message to my friend on my cell phone  reads:-

“After all, there are a few people who find the cries of babies heavenly! 🙂 ”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Life’s Like That” is a segment where I narrate incidences that have transformed from mere thoughts to wonderful memories. Click here for more posts in the segment! 🙂

15 Responses to “Life’s Like That: Of checked-in babies :-P”

  1. Dishit D December 29, 2010 at 2:46 am #

    well when i read the title and with the previous posts under Life’s like that,i really thought – some baby surely must have peed on you for you to write this one! :mrgreen:

    but still liked the irony 🙂 – enjoying this trickle of posts that is coming by!

  2. megzone December 29, 2010 at 4:52 am #

    //For those who know me, I need sunlight to function//
    sigh!!! i cant think of anyone whose as much of a SUN LOVER as u are.. pichle janam mein SunFlower the kya?? 🙄

    //Yeah! I always think of food//
    m def not believing tht 😛

    //Kids should also be checked – in with the rest of the baggage in aircrafts!” //
    let him get married and try sayin tht to his wife 😈

    //Oh! I just love their voices and noises. Heavenly//
    my first thot was either ur co-passenger was a lady or is someone who already has a lot of kids back home 😆
    but u wrote //some of his clients at Houston//
    so well i guess my latter part of the theory must be true :mrgreen:

    nice one manshu 😀

  3. Aishwarya December 29, 2010 at 5:41 am #

    Hey Himanshu! It is so good to read a post of yours after
    such a long time! 🙂 Your co-passenger seemed to have a satirical
    sense of humour. 😀

  4. Himanshu December 29, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    @ Dish
    //some baby surely must have peed on you for you to write this one!// — Grrrr! 👿 By the way, even if some baby had peed on me which has happened indeed, I would not get angry. Hmph!
    //but still liked the irony// — Aaahh. So much for the consession!
    I so wish that some kid pees on you and then I would love to read a post on that..

    @ Megzy
    //pichle janam mein SunFlower the kya??// — Shayad. Who knows! Peechle janam mein Surya-Fool. Is janam mein only Fool!
    //m def not believing tht // — why? :rolling: The next time I visit home, I am making it a point to dine with you and then you would agree with my mom’s conclusion that I am a bottomless pit. 😆
    //let him get married and try sayin tht to his wife// — HAHAHA! 😆 I am definitely going to let him know about this reaction.
    //or is someone who already has a lot of kids back home// — Well, not a lot of kids, but he has a son. I have mentioned that in the post. Theek se padho Megzy. Silly mistake karoge to exam mein pass kaise hoge?
    //nice one manshu// — Thanks a tonne! Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    @ Aishu
    Aiiisshhuuu……….. 🙂
    SO good to see you here. I have added your blog to my blog roll. Now, I can follow you as well. Thanks for visiting!
    //Your co-passenger seemed to have a satirical sense of humour.// — I am guessing he did. But, he seemed to be genuinely liking the kid’s voice and noise 🙂
    Thanks so much for liking the post Aishu. Cheers! 🙂

  5. Meg December 30, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    Now where should I begin. Your co-passenger was just beginning his sojourn away from home 🙂 I am sure his statement would be something different on his return flight 😉 What a range of reactions I really enjoyed reading it.

  6. Pooja Mayadeo January 10, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    Hey HSK …Just read this one! But thot I shud mention..One of frenz thot ki “Babies ko toh Cough Syrup pila ke sula dena chahiye!”

  7. Himanshu January 10, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    @ Pooja
    Glad that you liked it. And LOL at what your friend thinks. I am sure my friend would be in agreement with this thought 🙂 But seriously, checking them in is more brutal than forcefully feeding them cough syrup. LOLzz 😆

  8. Sharma February 17, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I hate Kids

    • Himanshu February 18, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      That’s a mean thing to say!

  9. tripper February 22, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    we can keep toy and bottle of milk with kid so it wont die.

    • Himanshu February 22, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      @ Heartless bugger
      You are devoid of any human emotions! There are some things which have a scope of improvement and there are others which don’t. I don’t want to be specific about the class you lie in..

  10. tripper November 29, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    http://tywkiwdbi.blogspot.com/2011/11/flying-with-little-children-during.html

    Good to know that airlines are getting sensitive to the issue and not just hypocritically grinning the matter aside like most “Heart-ful buggers” do. Matter of time, before my plan gets underway. I should probably patent the idea..

    • Himanshu December 7, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      @ Yet another comment from a heartless bloke!

      I hope there is still some good omen in this world to not let your plans go underway! Amen!

  11. Cosmos November 11, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder – was what immediately came to my mind. 🙂 But your friend really wanted to check-in kids with luggage.. ?!?! 😯

    • Himanshu November 12, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      Isnt that atrocious? To even think of? checking in babies!

Leave a Reply

