Life’s like that..Of rhymes and goof ups!

29 Dec

Just another fit of random incidents which tickled me a little on a snowy morning. Some memories never fade, some just swift pass like a gentle breeze and some are meant to bring that little joy in your life which unintentionally brighten you up.

A medley of sorts!

I do talk to a few of my friends and relatives through video chats on skype and gmail every once in a while. This is my way of ensuring that they don’t erase me off their memory disks totally. Such a pest I am! :mrgreen:

So it was one such Sunday morning when I was video chatting with this uncle of mine whose daughter, Pillu (as I call her) is now old enough to chirp up nursery rhymes (Yeah! I have cousins who are that small!). Clad in her pink frock, frolicking away on her little kitchen set, as soon as I called her name, her distraction was evident and she came running towards the screen only to discover that it was me who had called her name. I could see the sense of surprise transform into the oh-its-just-you emotion in her eyes so clearly. It was almost enough to make my day.

My aunt wanted her to recite all the nursery rhymes she knew. She was just not interested in flaunting her intellect. She did not refute or anything, she just ignored my aunt totally. After a while, when my aunt had pestered her enough, this is what she did.

(The conversation was in Marathi. This is a decently attempted English translation)

Aunt: Wont you sing your nursery rhymes for Dada*? Sing Brother John… Jack and Jill…

Pillu (exclaimed): Brother John…

Me: Yay! 😀

Everybody was quiet and listening attentively to Pillu

Pillu (looked at me in the screen and gave a sheepish smile):-

Are you sleeping, Are you sleeping,

Brother John Brother John,

Jill came tumbling after,

Jill came tumbling after,

Ding dong bell… 🙄 😯

(Sing each line in the respective tune and you’d know the wonderful medley that Pillu created)

She came up with this awesome medley, partly because she was vexed enough by her mom’s bantering and mostly because she seems to be totally talented. Ahhh.. that is what is going to happen to my cousins you see.. Talent is going to overflow.. 😆 (I can almost sense you all throwing tomatoes at me.. the rotten ones..)

We were left in fits of laughter.

The curious ‘case’ of yours truly..

Those who know me well, or who have met me or who have had the privilege of taking my case, know how easy the task is. Most of the times I don’t even realize that people are having a good time.. err… at my cost. It was still fine to see the people I know take my case. What happened over the weekend has only convinced me that I ought to run away to Himalayas to seek divine help to be able to make me not to susceptible to pick-ons.

So there is this really awesome Chinese joint in Jersey City which I do visit once in a while. I had a friend visit me over the long weekend of Christmas and we decided to dine at this joint. With hogfull eyes, we entered the restaurant and ordered an awesome sparkling wine. We started looking into the menu card for the entrees when the waitress came to serve something to the folks sitting next to us.

She (sniffing..literally): Gosh… I smell something’s burning.

She (screaming looking at me): Sir your menu card is on the candle lamp. :X

Me (embarrassed. Didn’t know what to do! Thought for a second and then said.. aah. This is just one of those goofed up performances I keep giving every now and then): oops! I am so sorry… 😳

I just picked up the freaky candle lamp and put it on the table adjacent to ours. My friend was laughing like a maniac and needless to say this incident was publicized to the entire circle of case takers as the ‘latest best’. What more even the folks sitting on the adjacent table were happy to get entertained. Well, I had decided to go with the usual stuff which I always order and not indulge myself reading the menu card again. As I shut the card and kept it aside, the waitress came running and picked it up and quipped.

She: Let me pick it up before you do something… err… something happens to it. 😈

Me: 😦

She: Just kidding..! 👿

Me (to myself): Yeah right! You have no idea how I am going to be picked on by what you have just done! 😕

I guess I should rethink about the ‘talent’ that my cousins have ‘like me’.

Well, as I say… Life’s like that!

P.S: Dada in Marathi refers to elder brother. Which by the way is 22 years older than Pillu! 😆 I even have a new born cousin who I am sure will come up with something more dreastic in years to come.. 😛

10 Responses to “Life’s like that..Of rhymes and goof ups!”

  1. Agila December 29, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    “A medley of sorts!”
    —> Please do your extended circle of friends and family a huge favour by restricting your video chats with them to once a month maybe or even lesser. Too much of your influence on your poor cousins I tell you!! 😀

    “The curious ‘case’ of yours truly..”
    —> How did this incident evade me for sooo long??!! Anyways, I do have candles at home.. and a loooooooot of priceless documents (unlike menu cards). I will remember to put them away before you do something… err… something happens to them. 😛

    LOL!!!

    • Himanshu December 30, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

      @ Ags
      //Too much of your influence on your poor cousins I tell you!! //– 👿 Such a mean mean person this woman is. Kids, till the time are kids like me.. once they grow up, they run away from me.. 😆 So, i guess, just a couple of more years and Pillu would choose not to get influenced by this bro of hers!
      //Anyways, I do have candles at home//– candles?? aha.. 😉 do you know why are candles used?:D May be there is something that is evading me for soooo long.. For whom do you BURN those candles?? 😉 😆
      //and a loooooooot of priceless documents //– Yeah like the stale newspapers from ice age and your silly mice experiment journals. Burning them will only do good to mankind!

      • Agila December 30, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

        “Burning them will only do good to mankind!”
        —> Howwwwwww meeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaan!!!
        I hate you hate you hate you sooooo much!! 👿
        I seem to have figured out a use for my candles.. will drop a few BURNING ones on your head the next time I see you… 😈

  2. Megz December 29, 2009 at 11:08 pm #

    /This is my way of ensuring that they don’t erase me off their memory disks totally. Such a pest I am!//
    u of all peeps shudnt be sayin this buddy…
    you havent come online in like ages…. 👿

    awwww… pillu sounds cute and im sure sure damn sure she is too… 🙂
    and maaan.. you’re lucky,… your cousin seems to be a budding DJ already 😉
    remixing and medleying nursery rhymes…

    //Me (embarrassed. Didn’t know what to do! Thought for a second and then said.. aah. This is just one of those goofed up performances I keep giving every now and then): oops! I am so sorry…//
    wats with u and goof ups buddy…
    dekh lo ab tho kahin kuch nai jal raha…
    and awww… how i wish i was there to see that sight… i was already roflmao-ing wen i read it.. but ur expression “at oops im sorry” wud have been a super sight to see…

    //She: Let me pick it up before you do something… err… something happens to it.//
    LOL 😆
    she did that… i’m sure the next time u visit that place.. she’s gonna make sure the menu is immed taken away from ur hand 😈
    kkiieekkiieekkiee :mrgreen:
    nice write up buddy 🙂

    • Himanshu December 30, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

      @ Megz
      //you havent come online in like ages//— 😦 😐
      //your cousin seems to be a budding DJ already //— Oh yes. I so wish she becomes a singer or a composer or something. It will be so cool na! 😛
      // wud have been a super sight to see…//—Where is the humanity in this world? Where has it gone? Look at these mere people who are having fun at the cost of this poor bechara pyara dulaara me.. 😳
      //the menu is immed taken away from ur hand //—kkiieekkiieekkiiee indeed 😆
      Cheers hai Megz. Dont you worry.. You will have enough to live performances given by me once I am back..

  3. Megz December 31, 2009 at 1:07 am #

    //Where is the humanity in this world? Where has it gone? Look at these mere people who are having fun at the cost of this poor bechara pyara dulaara me..//
    humanity is right here.. the person whose typing this is humanitarian peace loving cutesey sweetsy innoncence personfied ladki..yep yep me only 😉
    and wen her pyara dulara but thodasa absentminded friend does this kinda act…what can she do but laugh and be merry 😉
    kkiieekkiieekkiiee :mrgreen:
    //ont you worry.. You will have enough to live performances given by me once I am back..//
    im feverishly desperately oh so completely looking forward to THAT 😈

  4. Srinivas January 1, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    Dude,
    I’ve got a cute little 4 yr old niece in Japan, with whom I video chat… the last weekend, she sang for me a Jap rhyme – wonder why my sis and BIL were laughing their hearts out… guess it was a medley of this kind!!! 🙂

    Chinese??? arey yar!! U missed it..should’ve burnt the whole joint down!! 😉

  5. Himanshu January 3, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    @ Ags
    man.. i am totally scared!! (Author giving the most monstrous laugh possible… uuuuaaaahhhhhhUUUAAAHHHHH :mrgreen: )

    @ Megz
    You and humanity? Poles apart. 😆
    //peace loving cutesey sweetsy innoncence personfied ladki..yep yep me only//–I almost was ROFLing reading this is what you think you are. You need to get yourself checked for split personality or something like that i guess. I will make sure I tag you along when i visit the psychiatrist next for my Alzheimer’s. 😛
    //im feverishly desperately oh so completely looking forward to THAT//–Evil.. very evil.. 😈 We are surely not going to any Chinese joint with candles! 😛 :mrgreen:

    @ Srini
    Thanks hai jee.
    //guess it was a medley of this kind//–Oh wow! This is so cool that both of us had similar experiences. Hi 5 bro! 😀
    //should’ve burnt the whole joint down!//–I am going to do precisely that the next time i visit that god forbidden – yet awesome food wala place. 😆 Thanks for boosting up my confidence! 🙂
    Cheers pal!

  6. Dishit January 19, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    medley of sorts! – kids are always pleasure to be with – always a freshness around them

    curious ‘case’ of yours truly –
    //This is just one of those goofed up performances I keep giving every now and then//.lol

    //Let me pick it up before you do something… err… something happens to it.// this is the best . ROFL 😀

    dont worry dude – am also pretty much in the same boat here – fortunately no one would be around to publicize it 🙂

    enjoyed reading it buddy!

    • Himanshu January 23, 2010 at 1:31 am #

      @ Dishit
      //always a freshness around them //–Yeah! so true.. 🙂

      //this is the best . ROFL//–Oh indeed. Thank god you werent there with your choicest ways of picking on me.

      Thanks for visiting. Now off Ch1, wordpress becomes the next best place on the internet i guess. 🙂

Leave a Reply

