I and the Me Within

26 Nov

I try to measure the overwhelming depth of the ocean,

And with a sly deception shudder at my fantastic obsession.

The Me Within opens his wings, flies high in the sky,

Lovingly callous about the miles treaded by.

*

I weave around myself, an aura of hapless piety,

Adorn my helplessness with a cocoon of sincerity.

The Me Within emancipates – out of the golden cage,

To soar the mountains steep with an astounding rage.

*

I look at my past with guilt, remorse and sorrow,

And search outward for an excuse that I could easily borrow.

The Me Within looks ahead never to turn back,

His burlesque gestures mock at me for the pluck that I lack.

*

I live in a world of purity, of rituals, of rights and of wrongs,

Content with the legacy of my notes, happy with the tyranny of my songs.

The Me Within is mischievously charming, gamboling in between,

And I hear his whistle blowing, humming a tune so serene.

*

I count my days, count my time, and count my blessings, to win,

And relinquish the countless moments of joy, scared of committing a sin.

The Me Within is a careless lad, who happily loses with a smile,

And brandishes his joyful hat, every once in a while.

*

I wish I could be like him, and he’d live my life like me,

I’d paint the sky with freedom, and dive through the depth of the sea.

Reality shrieks yet again, with her deafening draconian din –

When he leaves me, and I leave him, I’d meet the Me Within…

14 Responses to “I and the Me Within”

  1. Srinivas November 26, 2009 at 12:58 pm #

    Stunning… I don’t have any other words dude!!!

  2. Abhishek November 26, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    In a word – “wow” 🙂

    I am not too much into reading poetry, but loved the way you used the metaphors throughout 🙂

  3. Sree November 26, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    Said there, saying it once again…Bloody Brilliant!! 😀

    I’m still awwwwed by the closing line…attaining bliss eh? 😉

    PS: Loved the Sanjh Dhale song…downloaded it…am a fan of the singer!! :mrgreen:

  4. Sriram November 26, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    I count my days, count my time, and count my blessings, to win,

    🙂 nice! 🙂

  5. Agila November 26, 2009 at 9:42 pm #

    “I count my days, …. scared of committing a sin.”
    —> That is like a lot of ‘I’s. So many of us could relate to that…

    “When he leaves me, and I leave him, I’d meet the Me Within…”
    —> Loved those lines! Very spiritual indeed.. Almost like moksha (Disclaimer: No religious ties.. :))

    Isn’t it so beautifully paradoxical that the ‘I’ and the ‘Me within’ cannot exist independent of each other, yet can act independent of each other? To stretch the idea far, at any given point, only one of those truly exists, if you understand what I mean.

    Cheers!

    • Himanshu November 27, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

      @ Srinivas
      //Stunning… I don’t have any other words dude//–Thanks pal. I am totally flattered.. are you SriniBad? 😉

      @ Abhishek
      //but loved the way you used the metaphors throughout //–Thank you sir.. Glad to know that you liked it..

      @ Sree
      //Said there, saying it once again…Bloody Brilliant//–Aahh.. the dude himself!! Gracias..
      //attaining bliss eh// 🙄
      //am a fan of the singer//–Jeeez… floored i am..
      Thanks a zillion for stopping by pal.. given the fact that you have already overwhelmed me with a ‘bloody brilliant’ comment on ch1, this one does make me go ‘yay!’ 🙂

      @ Sri
      Hey.. long time bro..
      thanks for visiting.. 🙂

      @ Ags
      Aahh.. there comes the master blaster..
      //That is like a lot of ‘I’s. So many of us could relate to that…// — errr.. 🙄 i thought initially that a lot of ‘I’s’ are not good for health! (of the poem i mean.. what were you thinking? 😉 )
      //Almost like moksha //–Almost?? 😆
      //if you understand what I mean.//–Totally got your point ma’am.. true that both of them cannot exist independantly.. and yet can be subtly disparate.. irony personified..
      Thanks for those kind words.. Cheers to you too! 🙂

  6. Borna November 28, 2009 at 2:13 pm #

    Very nice Himanshu, I am not very good at critiquing, but I can feel the tussle between the I and the me within very well, and I feel that you have expressed it in very appropriate words.
    “content with the legacy of my notes, happy with the tyranny of my songs” couldn’t have said it any better.

    A very deep and meaningful poem.

    Cheers !

    • Himanshu November 28, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

      @ Borna
      WHOW! 🙂
      To get that comment from someone whom I admire and salute for her poetry is only flattering! 🙂
      Thanks a lot!

  7. Neha November 29, 2009 at 12:52 am #

    Hey nice one! very well written!

    • Himanshu November 29, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

      @ Neha
      Thanks a lot for visiting Neha.
      I am truly obliged to receive your comment..

  8. Srinivas November 29, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

    Yes I am!!! 😉

    • Himanshu November 29, 2009 at 11:47 pm #

      @ Srini
      YAY!!! 🙂 :mrgreen:

  9. Vivek Chaitanya October 6, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    I know i’m late .. but .. Marvelous ..! Just loved the depth of your thought and the rhythm and flow of the poetry ..! Amazing .. never knew you are this deep a thinker 😛

  10. Himanshu October 6, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    @ Vivek
    Thanks a zillion for visiting Vivek.
    //depth of your thought and the rhythm and flow of the poetry// — Absolutely superlative remark. I am flattered!
    //never knew you are this deep a thinker// — He He. I guess this is just a consequence of inconsequential thinking 😛

Leave a Reply

